UK PPL Cost & Hour Building

Published benchmarks put a UK PPL at £14,000 to £16,500 for 55 to 60 hours of flying, against a legal minimum of 45 hours.

What a UK PPL really costs

Most flying school packages quote only the minimum flying hours. The real UK average to pass is 55 to 60 hours, and mandatory non-flying fees add roughly £1,800 on top.

Course scenarioFlight hoursDirect flying costMandatory extrasRealistic total
Legal minimum45 hrs (35 dual / 10 solo)£9,200 – £11,500~£1,800£11,000 – £13,300
UK average (most students)55 hrs (45 dual / 10 solo)£11,400 – £14,200~£1,800£13,200 – £16,000
Weather buffer65 hrs (55 dual / 10 solo)£13,600 – £16,900~£1,800£15,400 – £18,700

Mandatory extras include: Class 2 medical (£200–£250), 9 CAA theory exams (£360–£450), radiotelephony practical test (~£150), skill test examiner fee + test aircraft rental (~£650), CAA licence issue fee (£214), and pilot gear (~£300).

Sourced UK training benchmarks

  • Advertised dual rate, four-seater (PA-28)£250 to £280 an hourPPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
  • Advertised dual rate, two-seater (Cessna 152)£210 to £240 an hourPPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
  • Class 2 medical£200 to £250PPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
  • Common prepay discount5% to 10%PPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
  • Extras on top of the flyingLanding fees, Class 2 medical and theory exam fees. Stated as a minimum.£1,500PPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
  • Legal minimum flying hours45 hoursSherburn Aero ClubChecked Oct 2026
  • Nine theory exams with invigilation fees£360 to £450PPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
  • NPPL minimum flying hours32 hoursPPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
  • NPPL total costLimited to UK airspace and daylight VFR.£8,000 to £9,500PPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
  • Of the minimum, solo hoursThe rest are dual, with an instructor.10 hoursSherburn Aero ClubChecked Oct 2026
  • Two-seater against four-seater over a 50-hour courseRoughly.£2,000PPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
  • Typical flying hours to pass55 to 60 hoursPPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
  • Typical total cost of a UK PPLAssumes the typical number of flying hours below.£14,000 to £16,500PPL ClubChecked Oct 2026

Flying cost by school

Cheapest first for 45 hours (10 solo, 35 dual).

Calculates aircraft hire and instructor time from each school’s published price list. Landing fees, membership, exams and the medical are extra.

SchoolAircraftRate levelSolo / dual per hourFlying cost for 45 hChecked
Herefordshire Aero ClubShobdon AirfieldEGBSCessna 152Standard rate£165 / £195£8,475Checked Aug 2026 Source
Anglian Flight CentresEarls Colne AirfieldEGSRRobin HR200Standard rate£178 / £198£8,710Checked Aug 2026 Source
Westair Flying SchoolBlackpool AirportEGNHCessna 152Standard rate£180 / £230£9,850Checked Oct 2026 Source
The Pilot CentreDenham AerodromeEGLDCessna 152Standard rate£175 / £245£10,325Checked Aug 2026 Source
Herefordshire Aero ClubShobdon AirfieldEGBSPA28 Archer IIStandard rate£210 / £240£10,500Checked Aug 2026 Source
Anglian Flight CentresEarls Colne AirfieldEGSRCessna 172Standard rate£215 / £245£10,725Checked Aug 2026 Source
Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQCessna 150/152Gold£3,000 paid in advanceincludes £12.10 an hour fuel surcharge£180 / £240£10,744.50Checked Oct 2026 Source
Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQCessna 150/152Silver£1,500 paid in advanceincludes £12.10 an hour fuel surcharge£190 / £250£11,194.50Checked Oct 2026 Source
Westair Flying SchoolBlackpool AirportEGNHCessna 172PStandard rate£220 / £270£11,650Checked Oct 2026 Source
Westair Flying SchoolBlackpool AirportEGNHPiper PA28Standard rate£220 / £270£11,650Checked Oct 2026 Source
Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQCessna 150/152Pay as you goincludes £12.10 an hour fuel surcharge£205 / £265£11,869.50Checked Oct 2026 Source
Turweston Flying ClubTurweston AerodromeEGBTPiper WarriorStandard rate£200 / £285£11,975Checked Aug 2026 Source
Westair Flying SchoolBlackpool AirportEGNHCessna 172SStandard rate£228 / £278£12,010Checked Oct 2026 Source
Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQPiper PA28 Archer II / WarriorGold£3,000 paid in advanceincludes £17.10 an hour fuel surcharge£205 / £265£12,094.50Checked Oct 2026 Source
The Pilot CentreDenham AerodromeEGLDCessna 172 / PA28 161Standard rate£215 / £285£12,125Checked Aug 2026 Source
Turweston Flying ClubTurweston AerodromeEGBTPiper Archer IIIStandard rate£215 / £300£12,650Checked Aug 2026 Source
Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQPiper PA28 Archer II / WarriorSilver£1,500 paid in advanceincludes £17.10 an hour fuel surcharge£220 / £280£12,769.50Checked Oct 2026 Source
Anglian Flight CentresEarls Colne AirfieldEGSRPiper Arrow III (Turbo)Standard rate£265 / £290£12,800Checked Aug 2026 Source
Freedom AviationCotswold AirportEGBPPiper WarriorStandard rate£250 / £310£13,350Checked Aug 2026 Source
Freedom AviationCotswold AirportEGBPAmerican Champion CitabriaStandard rate£250 / £310£13,350Checked Aug 2026 Source

Prepay tiers & discounts

Some flying schools discount the hourly rate when you deposit funds upfront. The savings below are calculated on the dual instruction hour against the school’s standard pay-as-you-go rate for the same aircraft.

SchoolAircraftRate levelPaid in advanceSolo per hourDual per hourSaves on dualChecked
Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQCessna 150/152Pay as you goplus £12.10 an hour fuel surchargeNone£205£265Checked Oct 2026 Source
Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQCessna 150/152Silverplus £12.10 an hour fuel surcharge£1,500£190£250£15 (6%)Checked Oct 2026 Source
Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQCessna 150/152Goldplus £12.10 an hour fuel surcharge£3,000£180£240£25 (9%)Checked Oct 2026 Source
Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQPiper PA28 Archer II / WarriorPay as you goplus £17.10 an hour fuel surchargeNone£235£295Checked Oct 2026 Source
Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQPiper PA28 Archer II / WarriorSilverplus £17.10 an hour fuel surcharge£1,500£220£280£15 (5%)Checked Oct 2026 Source
Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQPiper PA28 Archer II / WarriorGoldplus £17.10 an hour fuel surcharge£3,000£205£265£30 (10%)Checked Oct 2026 Source
Westair Flying SchoolBlackpool AirportEGNHCessna 152Standard ratePrice list effective 1 April 2026, VAT included. Dual adds the NPPL/PPL instructor rate. The page does not say whether the aircraft rate includes fuel. No block discounts listed.None£180£230Checked Oct 2026 Source
Westair Flying SchoolBlackpool AirportEGNHCessna 172PStandard ratePrice list effective 1 April 2026, VAT included. Dual adds the NPPL/PPL instructor rate. The page does not say whether the aircraft rate includes fuel. No block discounts listed.None£220£270Checked Oct 2026 Source
Westair Flying SchoolBlackpool AirportEGNHCessna 172SStandard ratePrice list effective 1 April 2026, VAT included. Dual adds the NPPL/PPL instructor rate. The page does not say whether the aircraft rate includes fuel. No block discounts listed.None£228£278Checked Oct 2026 Source
Westair Flying SchoolBlackpool AirportEGNHDiamond DA40Standard ratePrice list effective 1 April 2026, VAT included. Dual adds the NPPL/PPL instructor rate. The page does not say whether the aircraft rate includes fuel. No block discounts listed.None£290£340Checked Oct 2026 Source
Westair Flying SchoolBlackpool AirportEGNHPiper PA28Standard ratePrice list effective 1 April 2026, VAT included. Dual adds the NPPL/PPL instructor rate. The page does not say whether the aircraft rate includes fuel. No block discounts listed.None£220£270Checked Oct 2026 Source

Post-licence hour building packages

Self-hire blocks for pilots who already hold a licence and are building hours toward a commercial licence (CPL) or instrument rating. Ranked cheapest rate per hour first. Confirm whether fuel is included (wet vs dry) and check home landing fees before booking.

SchoolAircraftBlockBlock pricePer hourFuelConditionsChecked
AlmatWolverhampton Halfpenny Green AirportEGBONot stated10 h£1,650£165Not statedThe page gives a price range for 10 hours and does not say which aircraft each covers. Fuel surcharge applies. Use within 3 months. Current membership required. Landing fees are charged per day for unlimited landings.Checked Oct 2026 Source
10 h£2,150£215Not statedThe page gives a price range for 10 hours and does not say which aircraft each covers. Fuel surcharge applies. Use within 3 months. Current membership required. Landing fees are charged per day for unlimited landings.Checked Oct 2026 Source
Modern AirFowlmere AirfieldEGMAPiper PA-38 Tomahawk10–24 h£169DryBooking fee applies. Fuel, oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Checked Oct 2026 Source
25–49 h£168DryBooking fee applies. Fuel, oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Checked Oct 2026 Source
50–74 h£167DryBooking fee applies. Fuel, oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Checked Oct 2026 Source
75–99 h£166DryBooking fee applies. Fuel, oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Checked Oct 2026 Source
100 h£165DryBooking fee applies. Fuel, oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Largest block saves 2% an hour against the smallestChecked Oct 2026 Source
Modern AirFowlmere AirfieldEGMAPiper PA-38 Tomahawk10–24 h£199WetFuel included only when bought at Fowlmere. Booking fee applies. Oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Checked Oct 2026 Source
25–49 h£198WetFuel included only when bought at Fowlmere. Booking fee applies. Oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Checked Oct 2026 Source
50–74 h£197WetFuel included only when bought at Fowlmere. Booking fee applies. Oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Checked Oct 2026 Source
75–99 h£196WetFuel included only when bought at Fowlmere. Booking fee applies. Oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Checked Oct 2026 Source
100 h£195WetFuel included only when bought at Fowlmere. Booking fee applies. Oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Largest block saves 2% an hour against the smallestChecked Oct 2026 Source
ACS Flight TrainingPerth/Scone AirportEGPTTecnam P-Mentor5 h£1,215£243Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026 Source
10 h£2,375£237.50Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026 Source
15 h£3,465£231Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026 Source
25 h£5,625£225Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026 Source
50 h£10,935£218.70Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Largest block saves 10% an hour against the smallestChecked Oct 2026 Source
Cranfield Flying SchoolCranfield AirportEGTCPiper PA28 Warrior10 h£2,350£235WetCharged on block time.Checked Oct 2026 Source
25 h£5,750£230WetCharged on block time.Checked Oct 2026 Source
60 h£13,500£225WetCharged on block time.Checked Oct 2026 Source
125 h£27,500£220WetCharged on block time.Largest block saves 6% an hour against the smallestChecked Oct 2026 Source
Cranfield Flying SchoolCranfield AirportEGTCSocata TB910 h£2,350£235WetCharged on block time.Checked Oct 2026 Source
25 h£5,750£230WetCharged on block time.Checked Oct 2026 Source
60 h£13,500£225WetCharged on block time.Checked Oct 2026 Source
125 h£27,500£220WetCharged on block time.Largest block saves 6% an hour against the smallestChecked Oct 2026 Source
ACS Flight TrainingPerth/Scone AirportEGPTCessna 1525 h£1,290£258Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026 Source
10 h£2,515£251.50Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026 Source
15 h£3,600£240Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026 Source
25 h£5,960£238.40Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026 Source
50 h£11,375£227.50Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Largest block saves 12% an hour against the smallestChecked Oct 2026 Source
ACS Flight TrainingPerth/Scone AirportEGPTPiper PA28-1615 h£1,390£278Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026 Source
10 h£2,705£270.50Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026 Source
15 h£3,950£263.33Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026 Source
25 h£6,400£256Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026 Source
50 h£12,465£249.30Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Largest block saves 10% an hour against the smallestChecked Oct 2026 Source
RavenairLiverpool John Lennon AirportEGGPPiper PA-38 / PA-2810 hNot publishedNot statedDiscounted when 10 hours are paid in advance. Prices are not published on the page. Landing fees are extra.Checked Oct 2026 Source

Learning in Florida instead

Florida rates converted to pounds at today’s exchange rate. Under UK CAA regulations, an FAA licence only converts cleanly once you have 100 hours total flight time; under 100 hours, you must still sit all UK ground exams and complete UK flight instruction.

  • Cessna 172 wet rental, by Florida metro area$180 to $220 an hourabout £135 to £165 an hourflightschoolcost.comChecked Oct 2026
  • Cessna 172 wet, Flight Center International (Miami)Plus a one-time setup fee and a minimum balance. No block terms published.$160 an hourabout £120 an hourFlight Center InternationalChecked Oct 2026
  • Florida PPL, all inRental, instructor, ground school, exams and supplies. Source data verified April 2026.$12,000 to $17,000about £9,011 to £12,766flightschoolcost.comChecked Oct 2026
  • Instructor (CFI) rate$60 to $85 an hourabout £45 to £64 an hourflightschoolcost.comChecked Oct 2026
  • Instructor, Flight Center International (Miami)$60 an hourabout £45 an hourFlight Center InternationalChecked Oct 2026

Pounds are converted at £1 = $1.33, the rate on 29 October 2026. Flights, accommodation and living costs for the weeks away are not in these figures.

The UK CAA converts an FAA licence in one of two ways, depending on total flight time. At 100 hours you pass the UK Air Law and Human Performance exams and a skill test with a UK examiner. Below that you must also complete UK theory instruction, sit every UK PPL theory exam and do whatever flight training a UK approved training organisation sets. CAA conversion rules. Exam and skill test fees are not published in one place, so a full cost for the Florida route cannot be stated.

Going from 55 to 100 hours is 45 more hours. At $160 an hour wet in a Cessna 172 that is $7,200 (about £5,407). The lowest published UK hour-building rate on file is £165 an hour (Modern Air, Piper PA-38 Tomahawk, dry), which makes the same hours £7,425. The aircraft differ, so compare like with like before deciding.

Planning your training

Read our in-depth editorial guide on how to compare PPL and hour-building quotes for advice on wet vs dry rates, tach vs hobbs metering, and avoiding prepaid insolvency traps.

Report missing rates

Know a school’s prepay rate, dual rate, or block deal that is missing? Report it here. Sourced hire rates for every club are on Aircraft Hire.